Inspection and Authorized Use
The assigned rental vehicle should be inspected prior to use and any damage or malfunctions noted on the face of this form. All University vehicles are restricted to University business purposes only. Drivers of University vehicles must be University faculty, staff or students, at least 21 years of age, and properly licensed in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas. Drivers with seven or more points appearing on their driver’s license are not permitted to drive University vehicles. When the vehicle is not in use, it must be locked and parked on University property and may not be taken home.
Request for vehicle rentals may be placed by faxing the reservation form to (936) 261-9727 or mailing the reservation form to Transportation Services at 1190 Reda Bland Evans St., Mail Stop 1420, Prairie View, Texas 77446. To confirm a reservation, call Transportation Services at (936) 261-1140 and have the departure date and reservation number available.
Reserved vehicles are picked up at Transportation Center, 1190 Reda Bland Evans St., located across from Farrell Hall. Office hours are 8:00 am until 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Vehicles will not be released to a driver without a valid driver’s license. Vehicles should be picked up within 2 hours of the reserved time or the vehicle may be cancelled and reassigned. A cancellation charge may be assessed if less than 24 hours’ notice of cancellation is given.
Vehicles reserved for Saturday or Sunday trips must be picked up on Friday afternoons between 3:00 pm and 5:00 pm.
Parking and/or Moving Violations
The driver is responsible for all violations issued to the vehicle during the period of the rental. All fines or fees are at the driver’s expense and will not be reimbursed by the University.
Rental vehicles should be returned to Transportation Center. The vehicle should be parked in the Transportation Centers’ gated parking lot. Keys should be deposited in the key drop box.
Vehicles that are not returned by the return time stated on the reservation form will be subject to late fees. The fee will be equal to one and a half times the daily rate of the vehicle that is rented. If you need to extend the lease, please contact Transportation Center at (936) 261-1140 during office hours to avoid late fees.
In Case of Accident
In the case of an accident or alleged accident, completion of the Motor Vehicle Accident Report is required. This is in addition to any reports filed by the Department of Public Safety or any police department. Completed forms should be returned to Fleet Services. In the absence of an Accident Report, the full cost of the vehicle damage will be charged to the leasing department. Blank forms are in the glove compartment of the vehicle.
In the event of a breakdown or malfunction in the University vehicle, please contact Transportation Center at (936) 261-1140.
Was this information helpful? Provide Feedback or report broken links.