PI/EAC Access

Reviews, Assessments Keeping CRESSE on Mission

External Advisory Committee Access and Principal Investigator Access.Advisory Committee, PIs Point Way to Program, Research Improvements

CRESSE Director and Technical Coordinator, Dr. Richard Wilkins, directs all technical aspects of the program and oversees operations of the various subcomponents, including his own electronics component. Dr. Wilkins reports to the Deans of the Roy G. Perry College of Engineering and the Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Kelvin Kirby, Deputy Director and Education Coordinator, is responsible for all administrative, operations and fiscal coordination while ensuring that student, education and outreach goals and objectives are met. He reports to the Director on a daily basis, schedules and coordinates meetings, and facilitates reviews as necessary.

Center Co-Principal Investigators and component personnel include Dr. Sukesh Aghara – Radiation Particles and Interaction Modeling, Dr. Brad Gersey, Lead Researcher – Radiation Engineering and Science Instruments; Dr. Prem Saganti – Space Radiation Environmental Modeling, and Dr. Jianren Zhou – Materials (Lunar and Martian Regolith and Mars Targets).

The Internal Advisory Board (IAB) is composed primarily of the Dean of the Roy G. Perry College of Engineering, Dean of the Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences, and the Vice President of Research and Development.

The External Advisory Committee (EAC) is chaired by Dr. Mark Shavers, Radiation Scientist with the Space Medicine Group of Wyle & Associates, Houston, TX. The six-member EAC brings to the table some of the most outstanding members of academia and the aerospace industry, all extremely familiar with the research and science of space radiation. They include Dr. William Atwell with Boeing Company Space Explorations, Houston; Dr. Ella Blakely with Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory, Dr. Les Braby, research professor with the Department of Nuclear Engineering at Texas A&M University; Dr. Yves Chabal, chair of the Department of Material Science and Engineering and professor with the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Texas at Dallas; and Dr. Dan Davis with the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University.