Academic Advising Services

Mission

The mission of Academic Advising Services is to provide students with a high quality advising experience by utilizing best practices that fosters academic success. These practices include academic workshops, early alert program, academic informational sections, and referrals. The high quality advising and customer service will lead to students’ readiness for career integration and advanced degree aspiration.

Goals

  • Promote student success by providing holistic advising services
  • Provide academic support and guidance to students in the decision-making process related to their choice of major and academic program
  • Provide students with high quality customer service

Freshman and Continuing Students Advisors

To schedule an appointment with an advisor, please contact them directly either by phone or email.

College of Agriculture and Human Sciences
Agriculture, Human Ecology, and Human Nutrition and Food

Fred Bragg

Fred Bragg

Phone: (936) 261-5904
Email: fabragg@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 18

Chirice Storr

Chirice Storr

Phone: (936) 261-3678
Email: chstorr@pvamu.edu
Office: Agriculture and Business Multipurpose Building, Room 327

School of Architecture
Architecture, Construction Science, and Digital Media Arts

Fred Bragg

Fred Bragg

Phone: (936) 261-5904
Email: fabragg@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 18

College of Arts and Sciences
Biology, Chemistry, History, Languages & Communication, Math, Music, Physics, Political Science, Social Work, Sociology and PSA (Program for System Admission)

Thomas Adams

Thomas Adams
History, Languages & Communication, Music, Political Science, Social Work, and Sociology

Phone: (936) 261-5901
Email: tladams@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 6

Walter Anderson

Walter Anderson
Biology, Chemistry, Math, and Physics

Phone: (936) 261-5908
Email: wmanderson@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 17

Kathleen VanDyke

Kathleen VanDyke
PSA (Program for System Admission)

Phone: (936) 261-5931
Email: kgvandyke@pvamu.edu
Office: E.E. O’Banion Science Building, Room 230AB

No image available

Jenta Young
All Majors

Phone: (936) 261-5906
Email: jeyoung@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 8

College of Business
Accounting, Finance, Management, Management Information System, and Marketing

No image available

Ashley Fiest

Phone: (936) 261-3609
Email: atfiest@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 5

Orlando Garcia

Orlando Garcia

Phone: (936) 261-9228
Email: oegarcia@pvamu.edu
Office: Agriculture and Business Multipurpose Building, Room 346

College of Education
Health, Interdisciplinary Studies, and Kinesiology

No image available

Ashlyn Page

Phone: (936) 261-5907
Email: aspage@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 16

College of Engineering
Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, and Mechanical Engineering

Renee McKnight

Renee McKnight

Phone: (936) 261-5913
Email: remcknight@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 14

Edward Tanner

Edward Tanner

Phone: (936) 261-9942
Email: edtanner@pvamu.edu
Office: S. R. Collins Engineering Technology Building, Room 349B

College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology
Criminal Justice, Juvenile Justice, and Psychology

No image available

Roman Sanchez

Phone: (936) 261-5905
Email: rosanchez@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 4

Nisha Saintelus

Nisha Saintelus

Phone: (936) 261-3685
Email: nisaintelus@pvamu.edu
Office: Don K. Clark Juvenile Justice and Psychology Building, Room 213

College of Nursing
Pre-Nursing

Dayshawnna Littleton

Dayshawnna Littleton
Last Names A-E

Phone: (936) 261-5929
Email: dclittleton@pvamu.edu
Office: Anderson Hall, Room 206

Phyllis Spates

Phyllis Spates
Last Names F-L

Phone: (936) 261-5919
Email: pespates@pvamu.edu
Office: Anderson Hall, Room 205

Jocelyn Whiting

Jocelyn Whiting
Last Names M-R

Phone: (936) 261-5925
Email: jswhiting@pvamu.edu
Office: Anderson Hall, Room 222

No image available

Margie Williams
Last Names S-Z

Phone: (936) 261-2923
Email: mnwilliams@pvamu.edu
Office: Anderson Hall, Room 209

Undecided

Walter Anderson

Walter Anderson

Phone: (936) 261-5908
Email: wmanderson@pvamu.edu
Office: University College, Advising Center Room 17

Shannon Smith

Shannon Smith

Phone: (936) 261-1040
Email: sasmith@pvamu.edu
Office: J.B. Coleman Library, 3rd Floor Student Success Center

Academic Advising Services Staff

Alvin L. Johnson, Jr.

Alvin L. Johnson, Jr., Ed.D.

Director
Phone: (936) 261-5900
Email: aljohnson@pvamu.edu

Dena Noel-Barrs

Dena Noel-Barrs, Ph.D.

Assistant Director
Phone: (936) 261-2920
Email: denoel-barrs@pvamu.edu