Mechanical Engineering

The Mechanical Engineering Program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org.

As one of the broadest engineering branches, mechanical engineering includes design, analysis, and manufacturing associated with: (1) energy; and (2) structures and motion in mechanical systems. Mechanical Engineers design machines, processes, and systems utilizing mechanical and thermal power. The work of Mechanical Engineers include, but is not limited to, the following areas: machinery design and construction, design and analysis of thermal systems, manufacturing, instrumentation and controls, fluid and solid mechanics, plant engineering, materials specification and evaluation, research and development, and technical sales. Many Mechanical Engineers are promoted to management and administrative positions.

Because of the global consequences of many engineering endeavors, and because of the continually changing technological climate, the Department emphasizes an integrated curriculum that overlaps other engineering branches and the physical sciences. Graduates of the mechanical engineering curriculum will be prepared to be technical leaders in tomorrow’s society.

Degrees Offered

Faculty & Staff

Faculty Name Contact Information
Biney, Paul O.
Professor
Research | Resume
Office: Room 102B, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: pobiney@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9842
Dr. Paul O. Biney
Boyd, Ronald D.
Honeywell Professor, Distinguished Professor, TAMUS Regents Professor, and TSRC Director
Research | Resume
Office: Room 229, Delco Building
Email: rdboyd@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9951
Dr. Ronald D. Boyd
Burrs, Stephanie
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 105F, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: slburrs@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9955
Dr. Stephanie Burrs
Duan, Chang
Assistant Professor
Research | Resume
Office: Room 105H, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: chduan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9954
Chang_Duan_pvamu
Han, Mingli
Lecturer I
Office: Room 311, S. R. Collins Building
Email: mihan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9952
Dr. Mingli Han
Huque, Ziaul
Professor
Research | Resume
Office: Room 105E, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: zihuque@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9957
Dr. Ziaul Huque
Jiang, Lai
Assistant Professor
CV
Office: Room 105A, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: lajiang@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9927
Dr. Lai Jiang
Lin, Shield B
Professor
Research | Resume
Office: Room 341, S. R. Collins Building
Email: shlin@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9958
Dr. Shield B. Lin
Lovelady, April
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 105G, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: aplovelady@pvamu.eduPhone: (936) 261-9962
Dr. April Lovelady
Vacant
Engineering Laboratory Instructor
Office: Room 110, Gilchrist Engineering Building
Email:
Phone: (936) 261-9965
Park, Jaejong
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 324, S. R. Collins Building
Email: japark@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9967
Dr. Jaejong Park
Peng, Xiaobo
Associate Professor
ResearchResume
Office: Room 102A, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: xipeng@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9959
Dr. Xiaobo Peng
Rayegan, Rambod
Assistant Professor
ResearchResume
Office: Room 105D, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: rarayegan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9964
Dr. Rambod Rayegan
Xu, Yuhao
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 105B, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: yuxu@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9963
Dr. Yuhao Xu
Zangeneh, Razieh
Lecturer I
Office: Room 325, S. R. Collins Building
Email: razangeneh@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9951
Dr. Razieh Zangeneh
Zhou, Jianren
Professor & Department Head
Research| Resume
Office: Room 102D, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: jizhou@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9960
Dr. Jianren Zhou
Staff Name Contact Information
Daniels, Mary
Administrative Associate III
Office: Room 102C, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: mjdaniels@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9961
Ms. Mary Crawford
Lee, Kevin
Equipment Specialist
Office: Room 205, C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
Email: kelee@pvamu.edu
Mr. Kevin Lee
Kureshi, Riaz
Senior Lab Coordinator
Office: Room 111, Gilchrist Engineering Building
Email: rakureshi@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9922
Mr. Kevin Lee

Contact Us

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Prairie View A&M University
P.O. Box 519, MS 2525
Prairie View, TX 77446

Email: mjdaniels@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-9961
Fax: (936) 261-9969