Faculty & Staff

COJJP faculty members are actively engaged in several research endeavors aimed to advance knowledge and inform intervention programs related to at-risk youth in our communities. Specifically, many of these projects are associated with identifying psycho-social risk and protective factors related to juvenile delinquency. Faculty is also involved in conducting research that pertains to student retention within the college. Student involvement in faculty research is strongly encouraged at the undergraduate and graduate level.

Select a department to view it’s faculty and staff along with their research interests or please feel free to review the Dean’s Office Organizational Chart.

Faculty and Staff in Psychology

Roslyn Caldwell

Dr. Roslyn Caldwell
Associate Professor

Email: rmcaldwell@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5215
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 219

Education

Ph.D., University of California – Santa Barbara

Interests

Forensic psychology, prevention programs, mental health, and juvenile and adult offenders

Corey Columb

Dr. Corey Columb
Assistant Professor

Email: cjcolumb@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5262
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 220

Education

Ph.D., Florida State University

Interests

Social Biases, implicit biases, and political biases

No image available

Dr. Peter Metofe
Assistant Professor

Email: pametofe@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5224
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 241

Education

Ph.D., California School of Professional Psychology

Interests

Multivariate Statistics, personnel selection, and survey research

Derek Wilson

Dr. Derek Wilson
Associate Professor

Email: dejwilson@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5253
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 256

Education

Ph.D., DePaul University

Interests

African and African American Mental Health, positive culture and mental health, Ubuntu, consciousness, connectedness, and competency

Logan Yelderman

Dr. Logan Yelderman
Assistant Professor

Email: layelderman@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5214
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 231

Education

Ph.D., University of Nevada-Reno

Interests

attitudes toward the criminally insane and mentally ill offenders, mental illness verdicts (e.g. NGRI and GBMI), the relationship between religion and legal processes (e.g. jury decision-making), parole decision-making, emotion, attributions, morality, and public perceptions

martin_p_251-200x3001

Dr. Pamela Martin
Professor

Email: ppmartin@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5208
Fax: (936) 261-5253
Office: Clark 214

Education

Ph.D., Michigan State University.

Interests

Theology, religion and hip hop, spirituality, faith development, racial/ ethnic identity, and achievement outcomes, especially in STEM

No image available

Dr. Yuki Shigemoto
Assistant Professor

Email: yushigemoto@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5264
Fax: (936) 261-5251
Office: Clark 225

Education

Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Interests

Resiliency after a stressful/traumatic event, posttraumatic growth, personal growth initiative, positive psychology, coping.

No image available

Dr. Barney Williams
Instructor, Undergraduate Coordinator

Email: bdwilliams@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5222
Fax: (936) 261-5251

No image available

Dr. Melaney McShan
Instructor

Email: memcshan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5263
Fax: (936) 261-5251

Marvin Johnson

Dr. Marvin Johnson
Instructor

Email: majohnson@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5263
Fax: (936) 261-5251

No image available

Pamela Pulpan
Administrative Associate

Email: papulpan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5263
Fax: (936) 261-5251

Faculty and Staff in Justice Studies

Dr. Camille Gibson

Dr. Camille Gibson
Professor, Interim Dean

Email: cbgibson@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5228
Fax: (936) 261-5249
Office: Clark 358

Education

Ph.D., City University of New York, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Interests

Schools and delinquency, Jamaican organized crime, juvenile sex offending, child abuse, law enforcement and juvenile interactions

Dr. Myrna Cintrón

Dr. Myrna Cintrón
Associate Professor and Interim Department Head

Email: mycintron@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5261
Fax: (936) 261-5249
Office: Clark 334

Education

Ph.D., Florida State University

Interests

Crime/delinquency theory, juvenile gangs, drug use and control, racial/ethnic issues in the criminal/juvenile justice systems, Latinos: multicultural/bilingual issues

Dr. David A. Rembert

Dr. David A. Rembert
Assistant Professor

Email: darembert@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5229
Fax: (936) 261-5249
Office: Clark 328

Education

Ph.D., Sam Houston State University

Interests

Juvenile justice, criminal Justice and social diversity, police violence, corrections, and family law

Karina Rodriguez

Dr. Karina Rodriguez
Lecturer

Email: kkrodriguez@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5227
Fax: (936) 261-5249
Office: Clark 359

Education

Ph.D., Prairie View A&M University

Interests

Juvenile gangs, racial/ ethnic issues in the criminal/ juvenile justice system, minorities and crime, and juvenile sex offenders.

Dr. Sesha Kethineni

Dr. Sesha Kethineni
Professor

Email: srkethineni@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5235
Fax: (936) 261-5250
Office: Clark 326

Education

Ph.D., Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey

Interests

Juvenile justice, program evaluations, family violence, international drug policies, female criminality in India, and human rights

Dr. Robin Jackson

Dr. Robin Jackson
Assistant Professor

Email: rdjackson@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5232
Fax: (936) 261-5249
Office: Clark 327

Education

Ph.D., Sam Houston University

Interests

Racial/Ethnic and gender issues in the criminal/juvenile justice system; substance use in African Americans, juveniles, and women; risk (discrimination, substance use) and protective (racial and gender socialization) factors related to crime and delinquency

Abdullah Cihan

Dr. Abdullah Cihan
Assistant Professor

Email: abcihan@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-1724
Fax: (936) 261-5249

Kimberly Chism

Dr. Kimberly Chism
Assistant Professor

Email: kichism@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5257
Fax: (936) 261-5249

Nabil Ouassini

Dr. Nabil Ouassini
Assistant Professor

Email: nmouassini@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5235
Fax: (936) 261-5249

Mathai Mathew

Dr. Mathai Mathew
Instructor

Email: mvmathew@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5234
Fax: (936) 261-5249

No image available

Sandra Siegmund
Administrative Associate III

Email: slsiegmund@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5234
Fax: (936) 261-5249

Faculty and Staff in Texas Juvenile Crime Prevention Center

Dr. Susan Frazier-Kouassi

Dr. Susan Frazier-Kouassi
Director

Email: sfkouassi@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5209
Fax: (936) 261-5252
Office: Clark 134

Education

PhD, Social Psychology, Boston University; BA, Psychology, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Paris Grady

Grady Paris
Associate Director

Email: gmparis@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5211
Fax: (936) 261-5252
Office: Clark 128

Education

Doctor of Jurisprudence, Bates College of Law; University of Houston

Angela Broadus

Dr. Angela Broadus
Training Specialist

Email: adbroadus@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5258
Fax: (936) 261-5252
Office: Clark 135

Education

PhD, Social Psychology Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program, University of Nevada, Reno; B.S. Psychology, Sam Houston State University

Terrence Allen

Dr. Terrence T. Allen
Research Scientist

Email: ttallen@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5210
Fax: (936) 261-5252

Education

PhD in Social Work and Criminal Justice from the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa
Master’s Degree  in Social Science Administration (MSSA) from Case Western Reserve University, Mandel School of Applied Social Science
Bachelor’s Degree in History from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA)

Erinette Watson

Erinette Watson
Administrative Associate

Email: erwatson@pvamu.edu
Phone: (936) 261-5212
Fax: (936) 261-5252