CARC and Department of Biology Collaborates to Serve Holleman Elementary Science Students

December 10 – Crossing the lines of learning is something that Prairie View A&M University prides itself on and that was no different when the Cooperative Agriculture Research Center and the Department of Biology recently collaborated to serve as judges for a science fair held at Holleman Elementary School in Waller ISD. Dr. Gloria Regisford, serves as a professor in the Department of Biology and Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences while Dr. Laura Carson is the Assistant Director for Compliance, Undergraduate Research and Student Success in the College of Agriculture and Human Sciences. These campus leaders of education are engaged in a vibrant 20-year collaboration that aims to increase the involvement of PVAMU students in science research.

Both Dr. Regisford and Dr. Carson responded to the request of Mrs. Barbara Tompkins for assistance in judging science posters for grades 3 through 5. Mrs. Tompkins, a 1989 alumnae of PVAMU, received her M.S. in Elementary Education from the PVAMU’s College of Education. Her love for teaching exudes from her face as she proudly talks about graduating from PVAMU and being a teacher in Waller ISD for 36 years. She smiled brightly as she spoke about her students’ excitement to present their projects to representatives from PVAMU.

Dean Gerard D’Souza is leading the effort in ensuring that CAHS seeks to enhance its interactions and partnerships both internally and externally. He believes that initiatives, like this one, provides an opportunity for personnel in both colleges to work together in providing service to our surrounding communities. He further adds that it is encouraging to see faculty and staff, post-doctoral fellows, graduate students and undergraduates working collectively to represent the PVAMU Panther spirit by serving as judges at science fairs. He has agreed to further strengthen the relationship with Holleman Elementary School as our CEP already has an extension agent working in Waller County.

Judging Team members are: Laura Carson, Gloria Regisford, Victoria Mgbemena, Charcacia Sanders, Maryuri Nunez, Hamideh Habibi, Subhani Bandara, Eric Obeng, Katina Harris, Dontrey Bourgeois, Jalen Farmer, Cayla Steemer and Adaeze Eze.

Laura Carson


Dr. Laura Carson
Research Scientist
(936) 261-5010