Ruth Simmons, Ph.D. Named Interim President of Prairie View A&M University

Dr. Ruth Simmons, an accomplished university president with administrative experience in Ivy League schools, a women’s university and a historically black college, has been named interim President of Prairie View A&M University. Dr. Simmons, who retired as president of Brown University in 2012, will assume her duties July 1, following the June 12 announcement by [...]

PVAMU Named Finalist in Five HBCU Digest- HBCU Awards Categories.

Prairie View A&M University has been selected as a finalist in five categories for the 2017 HBCU Awards presented by HBCU Digest. More than 175 nominations from HBCUs were submitted from across the country. Winners will be announced at the seventh annual HBCU Awards ceremony July 14th in Washington D.C.’s Gallup Building. HBCU Digest is [...]

Summer Commencement 2017 – Frequently Asked Questions

The William “Billy” J. Knicks (Baby Dome), PVAMU's traditional location for commencement exercises, is currently undergoing construction upgrades. The upgrades have been approved by the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.  The University is excited about the Baby Dome renovations, however, the construction displaces our traditional graduation ceremony. As a result, the graduation committee explored other [...]

George Wright Stepping Down as President of Prairie View A&M University

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — Dr. George Wright announced today he is stepping down as President of Prairie View A&M University and will return to teaching history full-time after an interim President is named. “I have served this University and the Texas A&M System for 14 years, and I am proud of the progress that we [...]

Librarian Selected as National Society of Collegiate Scholars’ Region 5 “Advisor of the Year”

Reference Librarian Kim Gay has been selected as Region 5’s “Advisor of the Year” by the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. Gay has been the sole advisor of the Prairie View A&M University NSCS chapter since 2011. According to the letter Gay received informing her of her selection, she was nominated based on her “strong [...]

Digital Media Arts Students Selected for Summer Mentorship Program

Students in the Digital Arts program have been selected to participate in the 2017 AIGA Houston Design Loop Mentorship Program. Samiria Percival, a junior Digital Media Arts major from Killeen, TX and Jalon Jackson – Bowman, a junior Digital Media Arts major from Houston, were two, of only 10 students, selected to participate in the [...]

Terence Finley, Ph.D. Selected for Yearlong Fellowship

Terence Finley, MBA, Ph.D., leadership development and organizational excellence officer, has been selected as a 2017-2018 National Association of College and University Business Officers Fellows Program. He will participate in a small cohort of higher education professionals in business and finance in a one-year program designed for aspiring chief business officers of college and universities. [...]

Faculty Member Invited to United Nations Commission in Austria

Professor and chair of justice studies, Dr. Sesha Kethineni, has been selected to attend the UN Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice in Vienna, Austria.  Those selected were required to represent a non-governmental or criminal justice organization. Kethineni will attend the commission representing Criminologist without Borders: a registered non-profit that provides objective information and [...]

University Hosts 17 School Districts for Academic Signing Day

Prairie View A&M University’s Office for Strategic Partnerships & K-12 Outreach, a division of Academic Affairs, will host seventeen Texas school districts for Academic Signing Day. Administrators from the partnering school districts will descend upon “The Hill” to sign partnership agreements with the University from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.  in the Opal Johnson-Smith Auditorium [...]

Faculty Staff Senate Presents Annual Faculty Ambassador Award

The Faculty Staff Senate of Prairie View A&M University presented two faculty members with the Senate’s Second Annual Faculty Ambassador Award. Dr. Juanita Jimenez, visiting an assistant professor of Architecture, and Mr. Danny Harvey, an instructor of Finance, were selected as this year’s recipients. Designed to recognize and reward faculty members who use their scholarship [...]