Industry Advisory Council (IAC)

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Council, better known as (MEIAC) will be:

  • To provide continual review of the undergraduate and graduate Mechanical Engineering programs/curriculum to ensure graduates are prepared for entry-level positions in Mechanical Engineering;
  • To assist faculty members in connecting with applied research opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students;
  • To coordinate field tours, guest lectures, seminars and other forms of technology transfer with faculty members to enhance student awareness and understanding of the engineering profession;
  • To provide assistance in the development of recruiting strategies;
  • To promote a spirit of giving and a sense of unity among current students, faculty, alumni, and the engineering community; and
  • To support initiatives to increase donations to the Mechanical Engineering Department.

Membership:

The Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Council membership consists of a group of industry, business, and professional leaders who are interested in the vitality of Prairie View A & M University’s Department of Mechanical Engineering.  The objective of the MEIAC is to develop a close working relationship between engineering leaders in industry and the administration of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  Activities and goals to be realized as a result of this relationship are:

  1. To function as an advocacy group for the Mechanical Engineering Department;
  2. To assist the Mechanical Engineering Department in attaining high professional standard, to maintain accreditation and to prepare students to meet the needs of society and industry;
  3. To assist in maximizing the research opportunities for the Mechanical Engineering Department;
  4. To assist the Department in the cultivation and solicitation of philanthropic resources and establish a multi-faceted fundraising program that will continue into the future;
  5. To expand opportunities for students and graduates to find employment; and
  6. To assist the Department in recruiting outstanding students.

At present, the membership consists of:

Name and Company

E-mail

Phone

Lawyer Jolley (Chair)
L & AJ Enterprises (Consulting Firm)

lcjolley@sbcglobal.net

713-309-5044

Lawyer Jolley

Maurice Ball
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)

reese@fnal.gov

630-840-4448

Maurice Ball

Jason Baker
Baker Hughes, a GE Company

Jasonlowrence.baker@bhge.com

281-921-5113

Jason Baker

James Bennett
InovativSolutions

jdbennett@inovativsolutions.org

713-591-7038

James Bennett

Carolyn Fritz
NASA Johnson Space Center

carolyn.g.fritz@nasa.gov

281-483-2017

Carolyn Fritz

Roosevelt Huggins
Black & Veaton Corporation

hugginsr@bv.com

713-590-2274

Eoosevelt Huggins

Edwin May
Triumph Aerospace Structures

edwinmay@sbcglobal.net

972-742-3375

Edwin May

Gerry Murphy
Raytheon Missile Systems

gerry.l.murphy@raytheon.com

520-794-8136

Gerry Murphy

Veronica Nelson
Advancing Minorities’ Interest in Eingeering

executive_director

@amiepartnerships.org

301-275-8067

Veronica Nelson

Stacie Robinson
Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems

stacie@raytheon.com

972-952-2491

Stacie Robinson

Natalie Smith
Erynst & Young (EY)

Natalie.N.Smith@ey.com

713-960-2090

Natalie Smith

George Standley
Standley Consulting

standleygeorge@sbcglobal.net

214-356-0458

George Standley

Emmitt J. Wooten Jr.; P.E.
Dow

ehwooten@dow.com

979-238-1109

Emmitt Wooten

Photo Gallery: