Industry Advisory Council (IAC)

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Council, better known as (MEIAC) will be:

  • To provide continual review of the undergraduate and graduate Mechanical Engineering programs/curriculum to ensure graduates are prepared for entry-level positions in Mechanical Engineering;
  • To assist faculty members in connecting with applied research opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students;
  • To coordinate field tours, guest lectures, seminars and other forms of technology transfer with faculty members to enhance student awareness and understanding of the engineering profession;
  • To provide assistance in the development of recruiting strategies;
  • To promote a spirit of giving and a sense of unity among current students, faculty, alumni, and the engineering community; and
  • To support initiatives to increase donations to the Mechanical Engineering Department.


The Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Council membership consists of a group of industry, business, and professional leaders who are interested in the vitality of Prairie View A & M University’s Department of Mechanical Engineering.  The objective of the MEIAC is to develop a close working relationship between engineering leaders in industry and the administration of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  Activities and goals to be realized as a result of this relationship are:

  1. To function as an advocacy group for the Mechanical Engineering Department;
  2. To assist the Mechanical Engineering Department in attaining high professional standard, to maintain accreditation and to prepare students to meet the needs of society and industry;
  3. To assist in maximizing the research opportunities for the Mechanical Engineering Department;
  4. To assist the Department in the cultivation and solicitation of philanthropic resources and establish a multi-faceted fundraising program that will continue into the future;
  5. To expand opportunities for students and graduates to find employment; and
  6. To assist the Department in recruiting outstanding students.

At present, the membership consists of:

Name and Company



Lawyer Jolley (Chair)
L & AJ Enterprises (Consulting Firm)


Lawyer Jolley

Maurice Ball
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)


Maurice Ball

Jason Baker
Baker Hughes, a GE Company


Jason Baker

James Bennett


James Bennett

Carolyn Fritz
NASA Johnson Space Center


Carolyn Fritz

Roosevelt Huggins
Black & Veaton Corporation


Eoosevelt Huggins

Edwin May
Triumph Aerospace Structures


Edwin May

Gerry Murphy
Raytheon Missile Systems


Gerry Murphy

Veronica Nelson
Advancing Minorities’ Interest in Eingeering



Veronica Nelson

Stacie Robinson
Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems


Stacie Robinson

Natalie Smith
Erynst & Young (EY)


Natalie Smith

George Standley
Standley Consulting


George Standley

Emmitt J. Wooten Jr.; P.E.


Emmitt Wooten

Photo Gallery: