Mechanical Engineering

The Mechanical Engineering Program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org.

As one of the broadest engineering branches, mechanical engineering includes design, analysis, and manufacturing associated with: (1) energy; and (2) structures and motion in mechanical systems. Mechanical Engineers design machines, processes, and systems utilizing mechanical and thermal power. The work of Mechanical Engineers include, but is not limited to, the following areas: machinery design and construction, design and analysis of thermal systems, manufacturing, instrumentation and controls, fluid and solid mechanics, plant engineering, materials specification and evaluation, research and development, and technical sales. Many Mechanical Engineers are promoted to management and administrative positions.

Because of the global consequences of many engineering endeavors, and because of the continually changing technological climate, the Department emphasizes an integrated curriculum that overlaps other engineering branches and the physical sciences. Graduates of the mechanical engineering curriculum will be prepared to be technical leaders in tomorrow’s society.

Degrees Offered

Faculty & Staff

Paul Biney Biney, Paul O.
Professor
Office: Room 102B
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
pobiney@pvamu.edu 936-261-9842
Ronald Boyd Boyd, Ronald D.
Honeywell Professor
Distinguished Professor
TAMUS Regents Professor
TSRC Director
Offices: Room 105G
C.L. Wilson Engineering Building
Room 229, Delco Building
rdboyd@pvamu.edu 936-261-9951
Prairie View A & M University Department of Engineering. Photos by Rena o. Productions LLC Burrs, Stephanie
Assistant Professor
Offices: Room 105F
C.L. Wilson Engineering Building
slburrs@pvamu.edu 936-261-9955
Chang Duan Duan, Chang
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 105H
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
chduan@pvamu.edu 936-261-9954
Kendall Harris Harris, Kendall T.
Professor and Dean
Office: Room 302
S.R. Collins Building
ktharris@pvamu.edu 936-261-9860
 Ziaul Huque Huque, Ziaul
Professor
Office: Room 105E
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
 zihuque@pvamu.edu  936-261-9957
 Shield Lin Lin, Shield B
Professor & Associate Dean
Office: Room 341
S.R. Collins Building
 shlin@pvamu.edu  936-261-9958
 Xiaobo Peng Peng, Xiaobo
Associate Professor
Office: Room 102A
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
 xipeng@pvamu.edu  936-261-9959
 Rambod Rayegan Rayegan, Rambod
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 105D
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
 rarayegan@pvamu.edu  936-261-9964
 Jianren Zhou Zhou, Jianren
Professor & Department Head
Office: Room 102D
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
 jizhou@pvamu.edu  936-261-9960

Staff

 Mary Daniels Daniels, Mary
Administrative Assistant II
Office: Room 102C
C. L. Wilson Engineering Building
 mjdaniels@pvamu.edu  936-261-9961

Find Us

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Prairie View A&M University
P.O. Box 519, MS 2525
Prairie View, TX 77446

E-mail :  mceg@pvamu.edu
Phone :  (936) 261-9961
Fax      :  (936) 261-9969

Directions: From Houston, TX
1) Take Highway 290 West to exit at the Prairie View University exit
2) Turn (right) on University Boulevard
3) Turn right on L.W. Minor
4) Turn left on E.M. Norris
5) Turn left on Anne Preston
6) Turn right on E.E. O’Bannion

Can we help you find what you’re looking for?

OR BROWSE OUR SITEMAP