Family and Consumer Sciences

FCS_Logo_secondaryThe Family and Consumer Sciences component of the Cooperative Extension Program recognizes that strong families are important to a prosperous and productive society. The family is the major provider of joy, security, values and goals. The Extension staff works to plan and deliver research-based family focused programs in health and well being, parenting, life skills and nutrition to underserved clientele, but, not excluding other audiences, that will serve as a catalyst to improve the quality of living.

Programs

Chronic Disease, Health, and Wellness:

The prevalence of obesity has increased dramatically in the United States since the mid-1970s. If trends are not reversed, more people will suffer from diabetes at some point in their lives.  Others will face chronic obesity-related health problems such as heart disease, high blood pressure, cancer, and asthma. This program provides research based information on improving diet, exercise and overall health by consuming nutritious fruits and vegetables, while reducing foods that are high in fat and sugars.

Major programs offered:

  • Step Up and Scale Down Program
  • Balanced Living
  • Media Smart
  • Diabetes Education
  • Chronic Disease Prevention
  • Smart Moves

Childhood Obesity

Childhood obesity has more than doubled in children and quadrupled in adolescents in the past 30 years. Obese youth are more likely to have risk factors for cardiovascular disease, such as high cholesterol or high blood pressure.  A healthy diet is the foundation for overall health and well-being.  Making informed food choices, in addition to being physically active, can help people attain and maintain a healthy weight, reduce the risk of chronic disease, and promote health.  This program provides technical and educational information to limited resource families and individuals to help them understand the importance of nutrition and diet. Additionally, it heightens awareness of the relationship between high calorie food consumption and lack of exercise to health status.

Major programs offered:

  • A Taste of African Heritage
  • Choose Health: Food, Fun, and Fitness Program
  • Healthy Food Preparation
  • Food Protection Management
  • Food Challenge
  • Let’s Move
  • My Plate
  • Smart Moves

Food Safety

Each year, millions of Americans suffer—and thousands die—from foodborne illnesses.  This is a preventable problem that is damaging to both individuals and the economy, but many of these illnesses can be prevented.  This program provides technical and educational information to limited resource families and individuals to help them understand the importance of food safety. Additionally, it heightens awareness of the relationship between basic sanitation practices when handling food reduces waste, conserve nutrients and prevent foodborne illness.

Major programs offered:

  • Avoid Foodborne Illness Program
  • Food Safety Workshops
  • Get The Facts

Fostering Strong Families

As the population continues to grow and diversify, our quality of life increasingly depends on understanding the impact of human behavior.  Individuals who are raised in an environment, in which they learn to make informed decisions, manage their basic needs, and tackle pressing human and societal challenges emerge equipped to lead happier and healthier lives.  A range of health and socioeconomic factors can affect family stability and strength.  This program provides educational and technical information to limited resource families to strengthen family systems.

Major programs offered:

  • Bullying Programs
  • Financial Literacy
  • Power Camp
  • Money Matters Workshops
  • Welcome to the Real World
  • Active Parenting of Teens: Families in Action
  • Active Parenting: Cooperative Parenting and Divorce
  • Active Parenting:  The Grief Recovery Method
  • Pathway to Total You Wellness
  • Child Care Conference
  • Families Reading Every Day Program
  • Survive and Thrive and Winning Cooperation
  • Savvy Saving Seniors

Meet our Staff

At headquarters...

Jacquelyn WhiteJacquelyn M. White, Ed.D.
Program Leader (FCS)
(936) 261-5132
JMWhite@ag.tamu.edu

Sabrina SimonSabrina Simon
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5127
SLSimon@ag.tamu.edu

Danielle Hairston-GreenDanielle Hairston-Green, Ph.D.
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5118
Danielle.Green@ag.tamu.edu

In College of Nursing...

Dawn BurtonDawn Burton
Health Coordinator
(713) 797-7032
Dawn.Burton@ag.tamu.edu

In the county (FCS)...

7E8A4170Sheryl Austin
Extension Agent, Bell County
(254) 933-5305
SLAustin@ag.tamu.edu

Grace Guerra-GonzalezGrace Guerra-Gonzalez
Extension Agent, Bexar County
(210) 631-0400
GGuerra@ag.tamu.edu

Marvin Young
Extension Agent, Dallas County
(214) 904-3050
MRYoung@ag.tamu.edu

Rosondra HartsfieldRosondra L. Hartsfield
Extension Agent, Falls County
(254) 883-1413
RLHartsfield@ag.tamu.edu

Courtney BryantCourtney Bryant
Extension Agent, Fort Bend County
(281) 342-3034
cobryant@pvamu.edu

Jennifer GarzaJennifer Garza
Extension Agent, Harris County
(281) 855-5600
JJGarza@ag.tamu.edu

Ashley MooreAshley Moore
Extension Agent, Harris County
(281) 855-5600
Ashley.Moore@ag.tamu.edu

Monica Aguirre
Extension Agent, Maverick County
(830) 773-5064
Monica.Aguirre@ag.tamu.edu

Meilana CharlesMeilana Charles
Extension Agent, McLennan County
(254) 757-5180
macharles@ag.tamu.edu

Stephanie Salinas
Extension Agent, Nueces County
(361) 767-5220
Stephanie.Salinas@ag.tamu.edu

Placeholder imageValerie Henderson
Extension Agent, Tarrant County
(817) 884-1940
Valerie.Henderson@ag.tamu.edu

Placeholder imageCrystal Wiltz, Ph.D.
Extension Agent, Travis County
(512) 854-9612
CWiltz@ag.tamu.edu

Te'Anna ReedTe'Anna Reed
Extension Agent, Waller County
(979) 826-7651
TLReed@ag.tamu.edu

Mary SandersMary Sanders
Extension Agent, Washington County
(979) 277-6212
Mary.Sanders@ag.tamu.edu

Placeholder imageKashara Shelton
Extension Agent, Wharton County
(979) 532-3310
Kashara.Shelton@ag.tamu.edu

In the county (EFNEP)...

Elaine FreeneyElaine Freeney
Program Coordinator (EFNEP), Harris County
(713) 440-4900
E-Freeney@ag.tamu.edu

Tameka ThomasTameka Thomas
Administrative Assistant, Harris County (FCS/EFNEP)
(713) 440-4900
TThomas@ag.tamu.edu

Alfredo Alberto
Nutrition Education Associate, Harris County (EFNEP)
(713) 440-4900
Alfredo.Alberto@ag.tamu.edu

Vida Harrison
Nutrition Education Associate, Harris County (EFNEP)
(713) 440-4900
VBHarrison@ag.tamu.edu

Shard'e J. Scott
Nutrition Education Associate, Harris County (EFNEP)
(713) 440-4900
SJScott@ag.tamu.edu

Krystal WilcoxKrystal Wilcox
Nutrition Education Associate, Fort Bend County (EFNEP)
(281) 342-3034
KJWilcox@ag.tamu.edu

Maria Irma Ortiz
Nutrition Education Associate, Starr County (EFNEP)
(956) 487-2306
miortiz@ag.tamu.edu

Was this information helpful? Provide Feedback or report broken links.