Students Win Big During Annual Pathways Student Research Symposium

Nine Prairie View A&M University students took home awards at the Texas A&M University System’s Pathways Student Research Symposium, which was held November 1-2 at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas. Graduate deans from each member institution host the annual event.

“Prairie View A&M University students have consistently presented competitive and intriguing research during the Pathways symposia and this year was no different. We are extremely proud of our students who took extra steps this year by participating in Graduate Studies workshops where a team of faculty helped to sharpen their presentations and public speaking skills. We are also thankful for the support provided by all the colleges and the Office of Research, Innovation, and Sponsored Programs. It truly takes a village,” said Dr. Tamara Brown, interim dean for Graduate Studies.

Dr. Ali Fares, interim vice president of Research, Innovation, and Sponsored Programs, said, “It was an outstanding performance for our students, and they received lots of compliments on their work. PVAMU was the leader!”

The symposium featured research efforts from students across the system with separate categories for undergraduate, masters, and doctoral level research.

Twenty-nine graduate and undergraduate students from PVAMU participated, along with faculty and staff members Drs. Carmen Carter, Ramaswamy Krishnamoorthi, Grace Abolaji, Richards Griffin, Peter Ampim, Pamela Martin, and Ms. Lorie Proctor.


  • Agriculture: 1st place – Asja Jackson; 2nd place – Victoria Parker; 3rd place – Ellen-Ashley Williams
  • Environmental Science: 3rd place – Esther Armah (Chemical Engineering)
  • Engineering and Computer Science: 3rd place – De Jaune’ Bickham
  • Life Science: 3rd place – Chonique Long
  • Humanities and Social Science: 3rd place – Chanelle Ferguson


  • Agriculture: 2nd place – Kolade AdelajaDOCTORAL AWARD WINNERS
  • Engineering: 4th place – Damilola Adelina (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Visit for a list of all winners at the Pathways Symposium.

By : Marchita Shilo