Family and Community Health

The Family and Community Health component of the Cooperative Extension Program recognizes that strong families are important to a prosperous and productive society. The family is the major provider of joy, security, values and goals. The Extension staff works to plan and deliver research-based family focused programs in health and well being, parenting, life skills and nutrition to underserved clientele, but, not excluding other audiences, that will serve as a catalyst to improve the quality of living.

We offer

The prevalence of obesity has increased dramatically in the United States since the mid-1970s. If trends are not reversed, more people will suffer from diabetes at some point in their lives.  Others will face chronic obesity-related health problems such as heart disease, high blood pressure, cancer, and asthma. This program provides research based information on improving diet, exercise and overall health by consuming nutritious fruits and vegetables, while reducing foods that are high in fat and sugars. View Current Plan of Work

Major programs offered:

  • Step Up and Scale Down Program
  • Balanced Living
  • Media Smart
  • Diabetes Education
  • Chronic Disease Prevention

Childhood obesity has more than doubled in children and quadrupled in adolescents in the past 30 years. Obese youth are more likely to have risk factors for cardiovascular disease, such as high cholesterol or high blood pressure.  A healthy diet is the foundation for overall health and well-being.  Making informed food choices, in addition to being physically active, can help people attain and maintain a healthy weight, reduce the risk of chronic disease, and promote health.  This program provides technical and educational information to limited resource families and individuals to help them understand the importance of nutrition and diet. Additionally, it heightens awareness of the relationship between high calorie food consumption and lack of exercise to health status. View Current Plan of Work

Major programs offered:

Each year, millions of Americans suffer—and thousands die—from foodborne illnesses.  This is a preventable problem that is damaging to both individuals and the economy, but many of these illnesses can be prevented.  This program provides technical and educational information to limited resource families and individuals to help them understand the importance of food safety. Additionally, it heightens awareness of the relationship between basic sanitation practices when handling food reduces waste, conserve nutrients and prevent foodborne illness. View Current Plan of Work

Major programs offered:

  • How to Avoid Foodborne Illnesses
  • Food Safety Workshops
  • Food Protection Management
  • Healthy Food Preparation

As the population continues to grow and diversify, our quality of life increasingly depends on understanding the impact of human behavior.  Individuals who are raised in an environment, in which they learn to make informed decisions, manage their basic needs, and tackle pressing human and societal challenges emerge equipped to lead happier and healthier lives.  A range of health and socioeconomic factors can affect family stability and strength.  This program provides educational and technical information to limited resource families to strengthen family systems. View Current Plan of Work

Major programs offered:

  • Bullying Programs
  • Active Parenting of Teens: Families in Action
  • Active Parenting: Cooperative Parenting and Divorce
  • Active Parenting:  The Grief Recovery Method
  • Child Care Conference
  • Families Reading Every Day (F.R.E.D.) Program

This program provides educational and technical information to families thus empowering family systems and family resiliency using information that will develop an understanding of how individuals and families obtain and use resources of time and money as well as community resources to achieve their standard of living and overall quality of life. View Current Plan of Work

Major programs offered:

  • Financial Literacy
  • Power Camp
  • Money Matters Workshops
  • Welcome to the Real World
  • Survive and Thrive and Winning Cooperation
  • Savvy Saving Seniors
  • EFNEP Food Challenge Rules

    What is a Food Challenge? This contest challenges teams to create a dish using only a predetermined set of ingredients. From these ingredients, team members must identify and prepare a dish, then make a presentation about it to the judges. Food Challenge Rules (1) All team members must be registered in order to participate in the competition. (2) All teams must consist of 2-4 members. (3) All supplies will be provided by to organizers of the competition (4) Each team will have the option to coordinate their attire (Optional). (5) All team members must wear closed toe shoes, NO sleeveless attire, no jewelry on wrist (6) Teams must use all ingredients (7) teams must cleanup and leave the area looking exactly like it was prior to cooking (8) Food and kitchen safety must be adhere to Judging Items will be judged on cleanliness (before and after), creativity, team work, effective use of time and ingredients

Meet our Staff

At Headquarters

Jacquelyn White

Jacquelyn M. White, Ed.D.
Program Leader
(936) 261-5132
jmwhite@pvamu.edu

Jennifer Garza

Jennifer Garza, DHA.
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5113
jegarza@pvamu.edu

Joyce Osborne

Joyce Osborne
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5118

joosborne@pvamu.edu

Sabrina Simon

Sabrina Simon
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5127
slsimon@pvamu.edu

Eliza Azarm

Eliza Azarm
Administrative Assistant
(936) 261-5114
emazarm@pvamu.edu

Trissy McCoy

Trissy McCoy
Administrative Assistant
(936) 261-5125
tamccoy@pvamu.edu

In College of Nursing

Dawn Burton

Dawn Burton
Program Specialist – Health
(713) 797-7032
deburton@pvamu.edu

In the county (FCH)

Sheryl Austin

Sheryl Austin
Extension Agent, Bell County
(254) 933-5305
slaustin@pvamu.edu

Grace Guerra-Gonzalez

Grace Guerra-Gonzalez
Extension Agent, Bexar County
(210) 631-0400
gggonzalez@pvamu.edu

Gloria Carter

Gloria Carter
Extension Agent, Cameron County
(956) 361-8236
gecarter@pvamu.edu

Marvin Young

Marvin Young
Extension Agent, Dallas County
(214) 904-3050
mryoung@pvamu.edu

Rosondra Hartsfield

Rosondra L. Hartsfield
Extension Agent, Falls County &  McLennan County
(254) 883-1413
rlhartsfield@pvamu.edu

Courtney Bryant

Courtney Bryant
Extension Agent, Fort Bend County
(281) 342-3034
cobryant@pvamu.edu

Carla Hayes

Carla Hayes
Extension Agent, Grimes County
(936) 873-3907
cnhayes@pvamu.edu

Alfredo Alberto

Alfredo Alberto
Extension Agent, Harris County
(713) 440-4900
alalberto@pvamu.edu

Te'Anna Reed

Te’Anna Reed
Extension Agent, Harris County
(713) 440-4900
tlreed@pvamu.edu

Stephanie Bowman

Stephanie Bowman
Extension Agent, Hildago County
(956) 383-1026
stsalinas@pvamu.edu

Monica AguirreMonica Aguirre
Extension Agent, Bexar County
(210) 631 0400
maaguirre@pvamu.edu

Jennifer Nickell

Jennifer Nickell
Extension Agent, Potter County
(806) 373-4703
jrnickell@pvamu.edu

Dr. Crystal Wiltz

Crystal Wiltz, Ph.D.
Extension Agent, Travis County
(512) 854-9612
CWiltz@ag.tamu.edu

Clara Walker

Clara Walker
Extension Agent, Waller County
(979) 826-7651
clwalker@pvamu.edu

Mary Sanders

Mary Sanders
Extension Agent, Washington County
(979) 277-6212
masanders@pvamu.edu

Ashley Gastineau

Ashley Gastineau
Extension Agent, Webb County
(956) 523-5290
amgastineau@ag.tamu.edu

Kashara Shelton

Kashara Shelton
Extension Agent, Wharton County
(979) 532-3310
klshelton@pvamu.edu

In the county (EFNEP)

Vida Harrison

Vida Harrison
Program Coordinator II, (EFNEP)
(713) 274-1291

viharrison@pvamu.edu

Maria Irma Ortiz
Nutrition Education Associate, Starr County (EFNEP)
(956) 487-2306
miortiz@pvamu.edu

Tameka Thomas

Tameka Thomas
Administrative Assistant, Harris County (FCS/EFNEP)
(713) 274-1291
TThomas@ag.tamu.edu

Krystal Wilcox

Krystal Wilcox
Nutrition Education Associate, Fort Bend County (EFNEP)
(281) 342-3034
krwilcox@pvamu.edu

Patricia Colbert

Patricia Colbert
Nutrition Education Associate(EFNEP)
(713) 274-1291
pacolbert@pvamu.edu

Angellica Harris

Angellica Harris
Nutrition Education Associate (EFNEP)
(713) 274-1291
anharris@pvamu.edu