Service Learning Pioneers

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world, indeed it’s the only thing that has.”

~Margaret Mead~

Prairie View A&M University is a member of Texas Compact which is committed to fulfilling the civic purposes of higher education. Texas Compact promotes community service initiatives that develop students’ citizenship skills, helps campuses forge effective community partnerships, and provides resources and practical guidance for faculty seeking to integrate civic engagement into their teaching and research.

The faculty and staff that have implemented service-learning in their curriculum are recognized “PVAMU Service- Learning Pioneers”

Listed below are the service-learning pioneers and the years in which they were recognized for their service.


  • Mr. Wayne Ballentine, College of Business
  • Dr. Veda Brown, College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology
  • Dr. Ruth Caggis, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Sandra Jenkins, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Kishwar Joonas, College of Business


  • Dr. Sudhir Tandon College of Business
  • Ms. Teneta Barnett, College of Nursing
  • Ms. Evonne Cummings, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Annette McClinton, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Cheryl Sneade-Greene, ACCESS Summer Bridge Program


  • Mr. Wayne Ballentine, College of Business
  • Dr. Sudhir Tandon, College of Business
  • Ms. Gloria Rose, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Chloe Gaines, College of Nursing
  • Ms. Lakeshur Green, College of Nursing
  • Ms. Shelia Harvin, College of Nursing
  • Ms. Gail Long, College of Agriculture
  • Dr. Kishwar Joonas, College of Business