Humanitarian Award Recipients

Prairie View A&M University Humanitarian Awards, first initiated during the 2004-2005 academic year, are awarded annually during the University’s spring commencement exercises. The award recognizes a Prairie View A&M University student and a non-student individual whose life and humanitarian service clearly exemplify a true spirit of love and helpfulness to others. As a state institution dedicated to service to the community, PVAMU uses the Humanitarian Award as a way to inspire students, alumni, faculty, staff and members of the community to live a productive life dedicated to responding to the unmet needs of others.

Humanitarian award recipients receive an award medallion and names are announced during commencement ceremonies each year.

Student Humanitarian Award Recipients Community Humanitarian Award Recipients
2004-2005 Lorie Michelle Freeman
2005-2006 Cory Brett Neblett
2006-2007 Erika Lauren Green
2007-2008 Carlton E. Singleton
2008-2009 Johnie L. Jones, III
2009-2010 LaToya Wolfe
2010-2011 Shonari Mondesir
2011-2012 Trenton T. Johnson and Kyle T. Maronie
2004-2005 Joseph Alexander Scott Jr.
2005-2006 Wesley D. Ratcliff
2006-2007 Willie and Mell Pruitt
2007-2008 Louise T. Becton
2008-2009 Lee Winslett
2009-2010 James Tatum
2010-2011 Lettie Raab
2011-2012 Samuel Montgomery