History at PVAMU


The Benjamin Banneker Honors College in cir.1984

Prairie View A&M University’s (PVAMU) fourth president, Dr. Percy A. Pierre, took a new educational direction in the pursuit of academic excellence through the establishment of the Benjamin Banneker Honors College in 1984. The Banneker Honors College at PVAMU was the first Honors College among the Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The Banneker Honors College at PVAMU was developed by two former distinguished deans, the first – Dr. Ron Sheehy and the second dean was Dr. Jewel Prestage.

However, in 1998, the Banneker Honors College was suspended. As a result of numerous requests by PVAMU Alumni and with the university leadership of Prairie View’s seventh President, Dr. George C. Wright, a new Honors Program was launched in the fall of 2010 under the direction of Dr. James A. Wilson, Jr. In keeping with the mission of PVAMU, the Honors Program provides students with scholarly experience to develop a philosophical habit of mind, solid academic and leadership training, service-learning and summer research opportunities, foreign language skills, and an aggressive pursuit of knowledge in all disciplines.