Certification/Specialization Areas

The Prairie View A&M University ATCP offers certification in:

  • Secondary Content Areas (8-12)
  • Special Education EC-12

Areas of Specialization

Secondary Content area requires applicants to have at least 24 semester hours (12 hours must be upper division course work.):

Arts (All Levels) Mathematics 4-8
Computer Science Mathematics 7-12
English, Language Arts, & Reading 4-8 Science 4-8 & Science 7-12
Health EC-12 Special Education EC-12
Health Science Speech 7-12
Life Science 7-12 Physical Science 6-12
English, Language Arts, & Reading 7-12 Science 7-12
Technology Applications EC-12 & 7-12 Technology Education 6-12
History 7-12 Social Studies 7-12











Applicants are required to have at least 24 semester hours, six (6) in each of the following areas:

English Social Studies 7-12
Mathematics Science




Note: Acceptance into the ATCP does not guarantee employment by a school district. It is the applicant’s responsibility to secure employment.

Was this information helpful? Provide Feedback or report broken links.