About the Department

Department Mission

The mission of the Department of Computer Science in the Roy G. Perry College of Engineering at Prairie View A & M (PVAMU) consists of three interrelated components:

  • providing the highest quality instruction to the students,
  • conducting leading-edge research in computer science and engineering,
  • and providing leadership and service to our professional communities.

As a unit in a major land-grant university, it is committed to excel in all three components of its mission.

Degree Programs Offered 

  • Bachelors of Science degree in Computer Science (BS)
  • Masters of Science degree in Computer Science (MS CS)
  • Masters of Science degree in Computer Information Systems (MS CIS)

Faculty Team

The Department has ten full-time faculty. Seven of them have a Ph.D. in Computer Science or related area.

The faculty and staff of the Department of Computer Science are committed to excellence and update the programs to meet the present and future needs of industry and the society. 


The Bachelor of Science program in Computer Science at Prairie View A & M University is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET (111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202). The Curriculum is designed and evaluated using the recommendations of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Scholarship, GTA and RA

A large number of Computer Science students receive scholarships and have ample opportunities to get internships and co-op jobs. Many of our students work (earning a good pay) at the Lockheed Martin Storefront and get valuable experience while pursuing their education. These students not only have a degree when they graduate, but gain up to two years of full-time work experience. Our graduates are aggressively recruited by major fortune 500 companies, as well as graduate programs of other leading computer science departments around the country.

The CS Department and faculty provide certain number of TA and RA positions for graduate students. This number changes semester by semester, based on the available funding.

Research Laboratories

The Department has six research laboratories: (1) Virtual Reality and Scientific Visualization Research Laboratory, (2) Radio Frequency Identification research laboratory, (3) Database and Data Mining research laboratory, (4) Network research laboratory, (5) Human Computer Interface research laboratory, and (6) Cloud and Parallel Computing research laboratory.

Salient Features of our CS bachelor program

  • Established in 1987
  • Accredited by Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • One of Seven Accredited CS Programs/Departments in Texas
  • One of Two Accredited CS Programs in the TAMU System
  • One of Seven HBCU’s to receive Accreditation