

# FACULTY & STAFF AWARDS Recognition Dinner

"Reach for Excellence"

Wednesday, September 7, 2022 | 5:30 p.m.

Willie A. Tempton, Sr., Memorial Student Center Ballroom Prairie View, TX

PRESIDING Harriette Howard-Lee Block Associate Professor and Department Head of Biology

#### WELCOME

Ruth J. Simmons President

#### **INVOCATION**

Reverend Charles H. Lewter IV Dean, Johnson-Phillip All Faiths Chapel

Dinner is Served

**PRESENTATION OF AWARDS** 

PRESIDENTIAL AWARDS Ruth J. Simmons

FACULTY AWARDS James M. Palmer Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

FACULTY/STAFF RESEARCH AND INNOVATION AWARDS Magesh Rajan Vice President for Research, Innovation and Sponsored Programs

STAFF AWARDS Cynthia Carter-Horn Senior Vice President for Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer

> CLOSING REMARKS James M. Palmer

## FACULTY & STAFF AWARDS Recognition Dinner

"Reach for Excellence"

Wednesday, September 7, 2022 | 5:30 p.m.

## 2020–2022 Presidential Awards

#### PRESIDENTIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AS A FACULTY MEMBER

The Presidential Award for Outstanding Achievement as a Faculty Member is the highest honor bestowed on faculty members by PVAMU. The accomplishments and contributions of those selected are highly meritorious and worthy of recognition. Whither, they have had an impact not only on PVAMU but also on the broader community, the state of Texas, and at the national and international levels.

2020	2021	2022
Gloria Regisford	Orion Ciftja	Alfred Parks

#### PRESIDENTIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AS A STAFF MEMBER

The Presidential Award for Outstanding Achievement as a Staff Member is the highest honor bestowed on staff members by PVAMU. The accomplishments and contributions of those selected are highly meritorious and worthy of recognition. Whither, they have had an impact not only on PVAMU but also on the broader community, the state of Texas, and at the national and international levels.

2020	2021	2022
Stella Smith	Chelsee Young	Brian Cudnik

## 2020–2022 Faculty Awards

### **OUTSTANDING FULL-TIME TEACHING**

2020	2021	2022
Lin Li	Jacklyn Sanders	Karl Baughman

## OUTSTANDING PART-TIME TEACHING

2021	2022	
Manjit Kaur	Brian Cantrell	

#### FACULTY SERVICE

2020	2021	2022
Yolander Youngblood	Terésa Dowell-Vest	Lin Li
Wash Jones		

#### ACADEMIC ADVISING

2021	2022	
Orlando Garcia	Ahmed Mahfouz	

#### **GLOBAL ENGAGEMENT FACULTY**

2020	2021	2022
Quincy C. Moore III	Nabil Ouassini	Kwaku Addo

## 2020–2022 Faculty/Staff Research and Innovation Awards

### EXCELLENCE IN SPONSORED RESEARCH

2020	2021	2022
Lijun Qian	Raghava Kommalapati	Ali Fares

## EXCELLENCE IN SCHOLARLY RESEARCH

2020	2021	2022
Fred Bonner II	Ananda Amarasekara	Orion Ciftja

## OUTSTANDING EARLY RESEARCHER

2020	2021	2022
Na Li	Ahmed Ahmed	Nabila Shamim

#### EXCELLENCE IN INNOVATION, COMMERCIALIZATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP

2020	2022
Aruna Weerasooriya	Shuza Binzaid

## 2020–2022 Staff Awards

## INITIATIVE AND CREATIVITY

2020	2021	2022
Alexis Boyd	Jimmy Henry	Meaquell Lewis

#### PERSONAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS

2020	2021	2022
Elizabeth Brumfield	Phyllis Earles	Denesha Henderson

#### **TEAM ACCOMPLISHMENTS**

2021	2022
John B. Coleman Library:	Owens Franklin Health Center:
Henry Koshy and	Glenn Berry, Ruth Smith,
Cesselly Churchill	Elizabeth Mitchell,
	Carolyn Carter, Lovie Busby,
	Bhadresh Patel, Julia Jones,
	Alvin Ferguson, Tanaya Kizzine

### CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2020	2021	2022
Pauline Walker	Kimberly Rose	Belinda Lewis

## CEP EXTENSION AWARD

2020	2021	2022
Rukeia Draw-Hood	Crystal Wiltz	Dawn Burton

## Planning Committee

James M. Palmer, Co-Chair Beverly Copeland '03 '06, Co-Chair Carol Campbell '79 '99, Co-Chair

## STEERING COMMITTEE

Cynthia Carter-Horn Magesh Rajan

Ashley Albee JeDonna Barnett John S. Briscoe '02 '06 Demitris Cambric Kevin H. Hoffman '89 '93 Demetria Howard '04 Candace Johnson '02 '05 Olivia Lee Rahim Quazi Blynthia Wilson

## Special Thanks

Office for University Special Events and Protocol Office for Marketing and Communications

> Amazing Awards Blank Canvas Graphic Design Daniel Pardo Darren Bennett Gabriel Santiago Hiram H. Smith of Hiram Style