Twenty five years ago, the Prairie View A&M University campus celebrated the first step toward the building of a “new grand library” at the ground breaking ceremony. Now plans are being made to celebrate the library’s silver anniversary.
The John B. Coleman Library administration and staff is currently planning a two year series of special events leading up to November 2013, the 25-year anniversary of the dedication of the present library.
Named after Dr. John B. Coleman, The first African American appointed to Texas A&M University System Board of Regents in appreciation for his long service to the board and support of higher Education at traditionally Black Universities in Texas.
Originally known as the W.R Banks Library, named after the former PVAMU principal, the building was funded by the Fifteenth Texas State Legislature. With its slow beginning in April 1879, the library was issued a total of nineteen dollars budgeted for books. Today its holdings are approaching 400,000 landmarks and it boasts a total capacity of more than half a million volumes.
By LaPorshia Owens
Public Relations Student Intern