University Hosts 17 School Districts for Academic Signing Day

May 18, 2017
Prairie View A&M University

  1. Prairie View A&M University’s Office for Strategic Partnerships & K-12 Outreach, a division of Academic Affairs, will host seventeen Texas school districts for Academic Signing Day. Administrators from the partnering school districts will descend upon “The Hill” to sign partnership agreements with the University from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.  in the Opal Johnson-Smith Auditorium (155 L.W. Minor St. Prairie View, TX 77445).


Throughout the day, students and district administrators will attend college/school open-houses and take tours around campus. George C. Wright, Ph.D., president of Prairie View A&M University, will sign official Memorandum of Understandings with the superintendents at 11 a.m. in the Opal-Johnson-Smith Auditorium. Following the signing, luncheons will be held for administrators and students.


Becoming a partnering school district with PVAMU allows the university to offer automatic admission to high school juniors who rank in the top 25% of their class, under certain requirements; provide scholarships to students awardees values at $5,000 each; provide financial aid and admissions workshops, advisement, pre-registration and counseling to districts; and partner with districts to explore visiting professor program in high demand/shortage areas.



According to PVAMU Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Felecia M. Nave, Ph.D., “This is an especially exciting time for PVAMU. Announcing 17 partnerships with area school districts is a record for us. These partnerships are a win-win for both the school districts and for PVAMU. Becoming a partnering school district allows the districts to better prepare students for higher education, and the university has the opportunity to showcase the myriad of award-winning engineering, nursing, architecture, arts and STEM programs that we have available for college-bound students.”

The following school districts will be participating:

  • Aldine ISD
  • Brazos ISD
  • Brenham ISD
  • Bryan ISD
  • DeSoto ISD
  • Hearne ISD
  • Houston ISD
  • Huntsville ISD
  • Killeen ISD
  • Mansfield ISD
  • Royal ISD
  • Sealy ISD
  • Somerville ISD
  • Spring ISD
  • Stafford MSD
  • Tomball ISD
  • Waller ISD