PVAMU and National Technology Mexico Partner to Expand Educational Opportunities

February 18, 2016

In order to promote cooperation in academic mobility, research, entrepreneurship, innovation and training of students and teachers, Prairie View A & M University (PVAMU) and the National Technology of Mexico (TecNM) signed a bilateral Memorandum of Understanding. Signing this historic agreement is part of a larger plan within the Texas A&M University System, of which PVAMU is a part, to strategically strengthen its educational relationships with Mexico.

National Technology of Mexico has 266 institutions throughout Mexico. The Memorandum of Understanding allows for students studying at any of the TecNM institutions to study abroad at PVAMU. In addition, the university will award up to 50 Mexican Citizens with Financial Need –Border Nations Waivers to students from Mexican partner institutions that meet the financial need criteria and other eligibility requirements.

The ceremony was chaired by the director general of the National Technology Mexico, maestro Manuel Quintero Quintero and Dr. George C. Wright, president of PVAMU, the second oldest university in the state of Texas.

“Prairie View A&M University is committed to helping all students reach their full potential. This partnership is one step in ensuring that we continue to serve diverse populations by providing an excellent education and a one-of-a-kind PVAMU experience,” said Dr. Wright.

Quintero noted that the agreement allows teachers and students to work on projects of mutual interest while leveraging the strengths of each institution.

“This partnership will allow our young people to join the knowledge society with a comprehensive training, where they will not only can strengthen their English skills but also learn the rich cultures of other countries,” explained Quintero.

In addition to Dr. Wright, several PVAMU administrators were on hand for the sighing of this historic agreement. Representatives from PVAMU included: Dr. Lauretta F. Byars, vice president for Student Affairs and Institutional Advancement; Dr. Cajetan M. Akujuobi, Dean, Research and Graduate Studies; Evie M. Myers JD, special assistant to the president; Dr. Deland J. Myers Sr., endowed professor, Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition; Dr. Laurette B. Foster, director of the Center for Academic Excellence; Dr. Shield B. Lin, Dean, Mechanical Engineering and Elma De Luna González; Director, Multicultural Affairs.

National Technology Mexico representatives included: Dr. Ofelia Guerrero Angulo, Secretary of Extension and Liaison; Imelda Vega Platas teacher, director of Outreach and Academic Exchange; engineer James Vega Mendez, director of Cooperation and Information; lawyer Nancy Mireya Ruiz Durán, Coordinator coalition; master Humberto Delgadillo Ambriz, director Institute of Technology Pavilion Arteaga; Luevano architect Uriel Hernandez, deputy director of Planning and Liaison of the campus and the academic vice principal, Dr. Ernesto Olvera Gonzalez.

Information regarding the Mexican Citizens with Financial Need-Border Nations Waiver can be found at http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/apps/financialaid/tofa2.cfm?ID=511