Founders Day & Honors Convocation March 29, 2006

March 20, 2006

PRAIRIE VIEW, Texas– Wednesday, March 29, Prairie View A&M University will celebrate 130 years since the university was signed into existence in the Texas Constitution during a special Founders Day and Honors Recognition Convocation at 10:00 a.m. at the William J. “Billy” Nicks University Field House on the university’s campus. The theme for this year’s Convocation is, “Celebrating 130 Years of Excellence in Achievement through Academic Perseverance.” Students who have achieved Dean’s list and University honors by earning excellent grade point averages will be recognized.

Dwayne Ashley, a celebrated author, philanthropist, and president and chief executive officer of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund, Inc., (TMSF) will be the keynote speaker for the 2006 Convocation. Recognized as one the nation’s foremost authorities in education advocacy, he will address students and participants of the convocation on leadership.

“I am proud to have Mr. Ashley speak to the PVAMU community. The Fund provides valuable scholarships, training and leadership development to our institution. Indeed, Dwayne Ashley is the kind of role model whose words and work can empower our students during this important time in our school’s history,” President George C. Wright said.

What: Founders Day and Honors Convocation
When: Wednesday, March 29, 2006, 10:00 a.m.
Where: Prairie View A&M University in the William J. “Billy” Nicks Building
The event will be open to PVAMU students, faculty, staff and members of the public

This year’s annual convocation is one in a series of year-long events celebrating the 130th anniversary of Prairie View A&M University’s founding, which will culminate during the 2006 Gala Commemorating the Military and Music scheduled for Saturday, April 29, at the George R. Brown Convention Center (Houston). The gala will be hosted by Radio Hall of Fame Inductee and popular morning talk show host, Tom Joyner.

About PVAMU: Founded in 1876, Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU) is the second oldest institution of higher education in Texas. With an established reputation for producing engineers, nurses and educators, PVAMU offers baccalaureate degrees in 39 academic majors, 31 master’s degrees and four doctoral degree programs through nine colleges and schools. A member of the Texas A&M University System, the university is dedicated to fulfilling its land-grant mission of achieving excellence in teaching, research and service. Students come from across the United States and many foreign countries. In the last five years, 5,970 degrees were awarded, including more than 2,400 graduate degrees. During the university’s 130-year history, some 47,000 academic degrees have been awarded.

About The Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund: The Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund (TMSF) was established in 1987 to carry on Justice Marshall’s legacy of equal access to higher education by supporting exceptional merit scholars attending America’s Public Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). The TMSF has awarded more than $50 million in scholarships, capacity building and programmatic support. Today, 47 schools are members of the TMSF, including many of the nation’s largest and most prestigious institutions of higher education.

Photograph of Dwayne Ashley
Dwayne Ashley
President and CEO of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund, Inc., (TMSF)
photo: courtesy of the TMSF website