Prairie View Prior to 1956 – Select Images from the University’s Archives

PRAIRIE VIEW PRIOR TO 1956
Black History Photographed
Select Images from the Campus Archives

 
The Double V Club, 1943 Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College Band, 1917

 Pictured Above (left to right) Miss Baukhead winner of a new Singer Sewing Machine,1931; The Double V Club, 1943; Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College Band, 1917

About this Exhibition

In celebration of Black History Month, The Fourth Floor Art Gallery is excited to share a series of photographs that have been selected from the campus archives to tell the story of this great academic environment prior to Texas public schools being desegregated in 1956.Within the context of this exhibition, these photographs illustrate the rich culture that has comprised this community for over one hundred and thirty five years. This is an exhibition of Panther accomplishment as recorded in year books, and course catalogues. These photographs have all been reproduced in association with the Prairie View A&M University Archives located on the 5th floor of the John B. Coleman Library.

Amassing over sixty reproduced snapshots, this exhibition includes images of the campus that date back to the 1880s and covers a vast array of events and campus organizations prior to the era of integration .The photographs selected for this exhibition reveal the experiences students encountered under the various names that the university has held over the past century. On display are images of the campus community when our college was regarded as Prairie View State Normal School”. After a series of addendums, the Twenty Sixth Legislature of 1899 ruled that African-American students would be able attain degrees in education from “Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College”. In 1945 the state again decreed that Panther pride could be found under the brand “Prairie View University”. And in 1973, after a series of changes within the nation’s cultural landscape, the sixty-third Legislature, in greater association with Texas A&M University, ruled that our school would now be addressed as “Prairie View A&M University”.

Though the university has operated under various monikers since its inception, Prairie View has consistently provided its students with rich cultural and academic programs to aid in recognizing the highest potential. This exhibition celebrates the greatness of Pantherland as we hope that viewers will recognize something new about this unique community’s rich history.

The Fourth Floor Art Gallery would like to take this time to recognize and thank Ms. Phyllis Earles and the Special Collection Archives for all of that team’s assistance in bringing this exhibition to light.

This event is free and open to the public.

 

To learn more about this exhibition email Ms. Kelley-Oliver at Ldkelley@pvamu.edu or call (936) 261-1523.


Subject Content by Lauren Kelley-Oliver, Art Curator
Maintained by Karl Henson, Library Webmaster
Updated 4/25/2011

Was this information helpful? Provide Feedback or report broken links.