4-H & Youth Development

4-H_cloverThe Cooperative Extension 4-H & Youth Development Program at Prairie View A&M University officially started in 1985. Prior to 1985 the youth program was called the Recreation and Outdoor Education Program. Trained professionals and paraprofessionals used fun wagons that contained recreational and camping activities to attract young people and teach them to use their leisure time constructively.

Mission Statement

Prepare youth to meet the challenges of childhood, adolescence and adulthood, through a coordinated, long-term, progressive series of educational experiences that enhance life skills and develop social, emotional, physical and cognitive competencies.

Life Skills for Youth (includes Character Education and Leadership)

The program provides outreach and non-formal education to limited resource youth. 4-H exists to provide meaningful opportunities for youth and adults to work together to create sustainable community change. The 4-H Healthy Living engages youth and families through access and opportunities to achieve optimal physical, social, and emotional well-being. Life skills have been identified as a key resource for the positive, productive development of youth because it addresses what they must have to function well in society as they find it. Life skills address what young people must have to function well in society as they find it.

Major programs offered:

Healthy Living
  • Junior Master Gardener
  • Winning With Nutrition
Science
  • Agriculture
  • Archery
  • Egg to Chick
  • Outdoor Education
  • Photography
  • Robotics
  • Water Education
Citizenship and Leadership
  • Heroes 4-Health
College Preparation and Career Exploration
  • AgDiscovery
  • Career Awareness and Youth Leadership Laboratory
  • San Antonio Livestock Exposition Scholars

Adult Leadership and Volunteer Development

The 4-H model, in particular, uses volunteers as the core component of program delivery to youth. This program provide volunteers training in leadership, civic engagement, and service learning. The program also encompass subject matter workshops for volunteers, including those that contribute to certification and continuing education programs.

Major programs offered:

  • Archery Project
  • Ten County Camp
  • Angler Education Certification

What is 4-H?

4-H Is
Learning by doing, and is available to all boys and girls in the 3rd through 12th grades, from urban, suburban and rural areas. First, an adult leader brings together youth that have common interests. Second, the youth chooses one or more projects. Projects are chosen from among 100 project areas offered, or if you don’t see the one you like, you can create your own project. Third, the group enrolls as a club, and fourth meets together to learn and have FUN. Clubs are able to explore 4-H activities, events and trips. In 4-H, there are events happening all year round.

Who is 4-H for?

ALL YOUTH and adults
Ages 5-8: Clover Kids (non-competitive activities)
Ages 9-13: Sub-Juniors, Juniors, and Intermediates (name depends on area of state)
Ages 14-19: Senior 4-H

Meet our Staff

At headquarters...

Rukeia Draw-HoodRukeia Draw-Hood, Ph.D.
Program Leader (4-H)
(936) 261-5130
Rukeia.Draw-Hood@ag.tamu.edu

Joice JeffriesJoice Jeffries, Ph.D.
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5102
jojeffries@pvamu.edu

Joaquina KankamJoaquina Kankam
Program Specialist
(936) 261-5165
jokankam@pvamu.edu

Inez SimienInez Simien
Administrative Assistant (4-H)
(936) 261-5135
imsimien@pvamu.edu

In the county...

Arvitta ScottArvitta Scott
Extension Agent, Brazos County
(979) 823-0129
arvitta.scott@ag.tamu.edu

Ricky MahaleyRicky Mahaley
Extension Agent, Harris County
(281) 855-5600
RLMahaley@ag.tamu.edu

Joshua WilliamsJoshua Williams
Extension Agent, Waller County
(979) 826-7651
JLWilliams@pvamu.edu

Marcus GlennMarcus Glenn
Extension Agent, Harris County
(281) 855-5600
Marcus.Glenn@ag.tamu.edu

Nathan TuckerNathan Tucker
Extension Agent, Travis County
(512) 854-9600
Nathan.Tucker@ag.tamu.edu

Cynthia PierfaxCynthia Pierfax
Extension Agent, Dallas County
(214) 904-3050
cynthia.pierfax@ag.tamu.edu

Shannon Johnson-LackeyShannon Johnson-Lackey
Extension Agent, Tarrant County
(817) 884-1940
SJohnson@ag.tamu.edu

John FergusonJohn Ferguson
Extension Agent, Cass County
(903) 256-5391
john.ferguson@ag.tamu.edu

Amber FosterAmber Foster
Extension Agent, Fort Bend County
(281) 342-3034
amfoster@pvamu.edu

Guadalupe CastroGuadalupe Castro
Extension Agent, Cameron County
(956) 361-8236
guadalupe.castro@ag.tamu.edu

Was this information helpful? Provide Feedback or report broken links.