Advising

Once you’ve declared chemistry as a major, you will be assigned a faculty advisor. Your faculty advisor will serve as a mentor and will assist with registration, selection of classes, degree plans, and the registration pin for the semester.

If you have not received an advisor assignment, please contact our advising coordinators.

Advanced Registration Advising

The Department and University will send important email communication regarding advanced registration each semester. The emails will include the date and time at which students can begin registration and notifications of advanced registration appointments. It is important to read such correspondence as the instructions can directly impact your ability to register for classes on time.

Students must meet with their advisor each semester during advanced registration to review their progress toward fulfilling major and university requirements. Students are not able to register for classes until the advisor authorizes the student to register and provide their registration pin.

Advising Coordinators

Chemistry Advisors

Ananda Amarasekara

Ananda Amarasekara
Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator

Phone: (936) 261-3107
Email: asamarasekara@pvamu.edu
Office: 230F Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Marco Giles

Marco Giles
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3110
Email: gdgiles@pvamu.edu
Office: 230G Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Sameh Abdelwahed

Sameh Abdelwahed
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3192
Email: shabdelwahed@pvamu.edu
Office: 306 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Andrea Ashley-Oyewole

Andrea Ashley-Oyewole
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3119
Email: adashley-oyewole@pvamu.edu
Office: 222 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Leah Bush

Leah Bush
Lecturer II

Phone: (936) 261-3194
Email: lebush@pvamu.edu
Office: 210 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Gina Chiarella

Gina Chiarella
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3113
Email: cmcchiarella@pvamu.edu
Office: 230AF Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Harschica Fernando

Harschica Fernando
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3112
Email: hufernando@pvamu.edu
Office: 230H Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Yunxiang Gao

Yunxiang Gao
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3190
Email: yugao@pvamu.edu
Office: 306 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Yingchun Li

Yingchun Li
Lecturer II

Phone: (936) 261-3109
Email: ycli@pvamu.edu
Office: 213 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Yuemin Liu

Yuemin Liu
Lecturer I

Phone: (936) 261-3111
Email: yeliu@pvamu.edu
Office: 210 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Matthew Minus

Matthew Minus
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3120
Email: maminus@pvamu.edu
Office: 303AF Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Gururaj Neelgund

Gururaj Neelgund
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3193
Email: GMNeelgund@pvamu.edu
Office: 306/224 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building

Bernard Wiredu

Bernard Wiredu
Assistant Professor

Phone: (936) 261-3191
Email: bewiredu@pvamu.edu
Office: 306 Elmer E. O’Banion Science Building